Laughing in Text

at me
you laugh
as i type in one hundred and sixty word bursts
we exchange like lungs swap molecules
from blood into air and from sky into body

i feel like Chris Rock
just not as vulgar or political
when i text you

i smile when i see what you write
shorthand by slender fingers
anointing my eyes with phrases
on a phone you palm
like a carried basketball

my fingers fly
across the keypad on my BlackBerry
as i march across a pasture to work
military precision in my timing
as digits freeze solid while my thoughts
mesh with the melting sensation
in my chest at the fact
you engage me this way

so when numb fingers
pull back on the door handle
i stand as open as
the entrance to my office tower

i realize in that moment
the messages i type
in one hundred and sixty word bursts
show me what happiness is possible
one hundred percent of the time
sixty minutes of every hour

and then once more
you laugh
at me.

© A. Gregory Frankson, 2011.  All rights reserved.

About Cytopoetics

Cytopoetics was founded in 2007 to provide event planning, artist management and creative services rooted in the literary arts in general and spoken word in particular. Our motto is "Creativity in Every Cell" and our mission is "to present the vision that inspires others to positively change the world."

Posted on February 16, 2011, in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

